Heart to Heart talk: Books and more…

Ever since I’ve promised myself to write more, I am looking forward to posting more contents in this blog. Since it is my personal blog it is so liberating for me to pour my heart out in this blog. So I’ve been undergoing a lot of changes both internal as well as external. And it has been a really long time since I have got back to my writing and I am constantly trying to improve it.

So as I mentioned in my previous post that I was reading ‘The Ministry of Utmost Happiness’ by Arundhati Roy. I was glued to that book and I really wanted to read more and find out what happens next in the story when the story started going out of the track and started attacking the political leaders of India that just shook me so I read few more pages to come to know as to what has this particular leader to do with the story but all in vain as she introduced  so many characters in the story. Of’course the political leaders that felt more like a sharp negative remark on the setup of India just as she would have done in any non-fiction. I am not a very much fan of non-fiction so it became quite difficult for me to read the book any further so I left it in the half and kept it back in my shelf to rest. I wouldn’t say that the writing style of hers was bad, in fact, it was too good and that’s what engrossed me in the book in the first place. Maybe with the right state of mind, I may pick this book up sometime.

I don’t get that much time these days and whenever I do, I pick up books as a part of my therapy sometimes. I also read in dim lights as it really helps in soothing my nerves, calming my mind and helps me with exhaustion. My schedule becomes way too hectic for me that I am always on a go and hardly I am getting time these days to finish a novel on a go. It’s not possible being in the hostel but whenever I go back to my home, I am able to finish reading books within one or two days or more depending on the pages of the book.

So having read so many books, good books as well as boring books, I have become way too skeptic towards choosing the right book for me so I take help of the internet to find out more books that I may be interested in reading. So I wanted to read ‘Underground Railroad’ by Colson Whitehead. I was beginning to like that book but once again I will blame my situations and my being so busy plus being disturbed constantly as something or the other pops up or someone or the other pops up in my room since I am living in the hostel, it is affecting my studies but still I am trying so hard to manage it.

As far as reading novels are concerned, ever since I have shifted to this room I don’t know it is not appealing me and I can’t find it comfortable enough as well as quiet enough to finish reading even a thin book. So for that few months ago, I came up with an idea to make my space a little bit comfortable so I put rice lights on the walls of my side as well as my roommate’s side. And below is the picture of it, I was reading a book ‘Home Fire’ by Kamila Shamshie. I liked the story so I could finish it off.

53410244_2303958699865693_226849443746414592_n

And until now I couldn’t finish every single book I so wanted to read so I think maybe I will read a few books when I will go back to my home on a vacation. This month is ending and I am having some tests in my college that I have to study for, after that I will start doing my assignments that I had been stalling since so many days. Then comes my end semester examinations. So these three months- March, April, and May are going to be really busy for me as I will have my exams that will commence from April onwards and will come to an end by May most probably. Then comes June and I will be busy doing the internship. So there’s no rest in my life and being a law student is like a cherry on top.

So let’s just hope that I may be able to finish reading books according to the specific number and specific reading list of this year’s resolution. By the way, whenever I am reading I swear by ‘Goodreads’ app on my android phone. I just help me a lot in tracking the number of books I’ve read, number of books I have to read as well as it helps to track the percentage of a book I’ve read in a book that I am currently reading.

53389187_2303994803195416_3078060313510150144_n
‘Goodreads’ app

52708553_2303994756528754_3502738931617628160_n

This app has been of great help to me and it really makes me happy to see the number of books I’ve read so far and have made progress with. It is really useful for me and it is also one of the organized ways to keep your reading list intact.

So lately I started reading this book ‘Come Sundown’ by Nora Roberts because I wanted to challenge me into reading a romance thriller. I am not very much into romance but still, I wanted to read it and see how it turns out to me so instead of opting for a cheesy romantic book I had chosen this one. I will review it only if I will find it worth reviewing and for that, I will have to finish reading this one. So let’s hope that I get enough time in order to be able to read this one.

Till then goodbye!

Leave a comment